iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What's the funniest thing a log ever did to you?

Started by JoeyLowe, February 22, 2002, 05:01:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JoeyLowe

I thought this would make an interesting topic, since I just experienced my first funny with a log.  Some of my other posts references my new experiences with my Woodmizer mill and I guess everything has been leading up to this post.  I'm a newbie at this and bound to make some mistakes.  I can live with that as long as the mistakes don't hurt me or others.

Anyway, today I'm bucking a large willow oak into millable lengths for my mill.  On the first cut, I'm about half way through a 53" cut when all of sudden this liquid that looks like oil starts gushing out of the tree where my Stihl 066 is making the cut.  Before I could stop the saw and remove it from the log, I'm covered in a mixture of black liquid and sawdust from head to toe.  The first thing that went through my mind was that I just trashed my new $1000 Stihl 066 chainsaw.  When I realized that the saw doesn't hold that much oil, my second thought was that I must have struck oil  :D, but then reason kicked in and I realized that although this is Texas, and this is oil patch country, it would be hard to believe that the tree was full of oil.  Afterall, the guys who cut it down would have done hooked up a rig and capped off the geiser.  So what was that mysterious black liquid.  Turns out it was stump water... that's right, nasty old smelly stump water.  So the laugh is on me.  At least I didn't ruin the saw!
--
Joey Lowe

"Working towards perfection has to be a part of anything one does.  You've got to put yourself into it." ... Sam Maloof (chairmaker)

Tom

Joey, if it's one thing I can't stand it's a smart log.