iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Creosote problem in stovepipe

Started by Wlmedley, September 27, 2022, 10:03:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wlmedley

I have been using the same stove and stovepipe for the last 35 years.Stove is the biggest Buckstove that was available in 1987 and is inserted in my fireplace.I have 8" stainless steel single wall pipe  from stove to approximately 1' out of flue tile.My problem is after about 2 months of burning I have to get out a 30' ladder and clean pipe which is dead of winter.It is only the last 2 or 3 feet of pipe that gets stopped up which I presume is because pipe is cold.This used to not bother me to bad but anymore I hate to climb up there especially in January.Anyone have any ideas that would at least get me through a complete winter before I have to clean it.Also I burn all hardwood,mostly white oak, and keep at least two years ahead so it's pretty dry.

Bill Medley WM 126-14hp , Husky372xp ,MF1020 ,Homemade log arch,Yamaha Grizzly 450,GMC2500,Oregon log splitter

Old Greenhorn

That's a lot of chimney. Do you know if the stove outlet is 6" or 8"? If it's 8" you pretty much have to stick with that on the pipe size. If it's 6" and you have an adaptor, you could perhaps change to a 6" pipe or flex liner.
I think my chimney is just a tad shorter with a 6" liner and I get a coffee can of junk out after a full season of burning full time.
Also, it depends on how your stove is designed. As much as I hate the EPA changes to the stoves, the newer ones after their mandates burn a heck of a lot cleaner with those secondary burners in them to wring the creosote out of the smoke and they also provide more heat with that burn.
I hated (really hated) buying an EPA stove, ($$$) but when I got it, my life got a whole lot easier and warmer.
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products