iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

how to cut top plate seats for NON step-lap angle rafters

Started by apratti, September 17, 2019, 10:24:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

apratti

Hi folks. Of the two barns I'm working on, one had rafters that used step-lap cuts into the plate. Now I'm working on seating the rafters to another barn that use a 90 deg. vertical into the seat of the plate. (and 37 deg. run-out). Rafters have been cut, but now I have to replace some of the plate and some of those seats. I'm worried about accurately making a 90 deg and 37 deg run-out on the plate - instead of those step-lap cuts I did on the first barn. And help would be great!
Thanks, Amalio Pratti

Don P

Judging from the responses, this is gonna take a picture :) 

apratti

I am so frustrated at trying to send you this pic. I give up. I'm not good at. this. Sorry

apratti

I did it. As you can see, it took some extra courage.
Mario P.

Jim_Rogers

Ok, so I guess I'm going to need more information. What do you mean by a 37° run out?
Can you make a drawing and take a picture of it so we can see what you need to cut?

Jim Rogers
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

apratti

Hi Jim. The "runout" is not the right term. I need to make two 37 degree cuts in a plate for the rafter to sit. I will try to add the pic but it is sideways and I can't fix it. My cut is going to be hard to make because it's not a step lap.
Thank you.

Don P