iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Anyone near me that I can tour

Started by teddy233, September 21, 2021, 06:50:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

teddy233

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the sawmilling industry and have no experience in it, or forestry.  Have been doing research since early June and learning a lot about how all the equipment works together.

My goal is to setup a stationary mill with kiln drying and a planer.  Also I plan on taking the grading course to be able to grade my lumber.   

Wondering if there is anyone near me that I could visit and see your mill in operation to better understand the process.  I'm near Pointe-a-la-Croix, Quebec.

Thanks for taking the time,

J

Stephen1

Welcome to the FF .
I am a little far from you, but you are always welcome to visit.
cheers
Stephen
IDRY Vacum Kiln, LT40HDWide, BMS250 sharpener/setter 742b Bobcat, TCM forklift, Sthil 026,038, 461. 1952 TEA Fergusan Tractor

WV Sawmiller

Good luck. I think you have a great plan to visit working mills to better understand the process and equipment. I hope it all works out well for you.
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once

Chuck White

Member @isawlogs is up your way, in or near Chelsea Quebec.

~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

skiather

Also a significant distance from you, As well as a beginner, I also have no experience in forestry or sawing other than firewood/chainsaw, Unlike you I have been researching mills, sharpeners, and setters for less than a month. There is a world of hands-on experience shared here on this Forum. U-tube videos and such.