iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What do you think about the woodmaster planer/molder

Started by brdmkr, July 16, 2005, 11:52:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brdmkr

I won't be buying one for at least a year, but I am considering buying a woodmaster to finish some of my sawmilling efforts.  I know that the molding features are pretty strong, but I really think I will be using it more as a finish planer.  Given the cost relative to say a 20" grizzly surface planer, is the Woodmaster worth the difference?  Can the Woodmaster plane on all 4 sides? This is a little unclear to me from the ads I have seen (or at least remember).

Thanks.
Lucas 618  Mahindra 4110, FEL and pallet forks, some cant hooks, and a dose of want-to

Gary_B

I have a woodmaster 718 that I purchased 2 years ago, in my opinion it is worth every dime, I only wished woodmaster built  a table saw , for I would own one. The 718 is  a  surface planer so it really isnt a 4 sided planer, it takes around 15 minutes to change from planing to  drum sanding, and the drum sander is a nice option, along with the molder head, gang saw. I cannot speak for the grizzly for I have never owned one, good luck with your choice. 8)

Larry

I have three machines.  First is a Delta 18" wedgebed...thought by many to be the best planer ever made.  Second is a Belsaw which is the predecessor to the Woodmaster.   Most recent is a generic 4 poster identical to the Grizzly except I equipped it with a Byrd Shellix spiral head.