iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sthil MS361 or MS361 Q

Started by waorgany, November 18, 2008, 11:00:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

waorgany

Hey everyone, great site, I found it by plain luck. Thanks for all the great reading thus far. I have a question. I am replacing an older saw (yeah it doesn't matter)...I have decided on the Sthil MS 361, there is a dealer about 15 miles from the house. I am wanting to know if it is worth the extra few bucks for the "Q" version over the standard 361. Also I am wondering which bar lenght will be best a 20" or 25". I have been using saw's on and off for the last 30+ years. We recently installed an outdoor wood burning stove and my old little saw just isn't big enough to use for this much wood. I have about 20 chords I am working on now for me, and we always do about 12-20 per year for my mom in law too. Most of the trees we fell are 18-24" in diameter on averge, some smaller some larger. Just wondering what everyone else thinks would be the best set up for felling, limbing, bucking etc... Thanks in advance for the insight all the best.

Rocky_J

sawguy21

Welcome aboard.
IMHO, the Q is not worth the extra money. Save the coin for a spare chain or PPE.
The 361 is a very good saw happiest with a 20" bar. The 25" is a bit much especially in hardwood although it will work with a sharp skip tooth chain.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

beenthere

I like the 20" on my MS361. It is balanced slightly to the handle end, so the bar doesn't rest on the chain when setting it down. A 25" would be tip heavy (price one pays if needing the longer bar tho  :) )

The trees you mentioned are the size I cut most of, and the only length bar I have for felling, limbing, and bucking.