iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Preheating mill engine oil?

Started by Brad_bb, November 25, 2023, 11:22:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brad_bb

So  this is my second year in my new mill shop with my LT15go.  It's not heated.  I'm thinking maybe I should be preheating my mill engine/oil before I start it up to reduce wear.  

Any thoughts? 

I've got a small propane torpedo heater.  Can't get something like that too close though as I melted my lube lines a few years ago when I had to mill something outside in single digit weather and use a Torpedo too close.  
I've also got an electrical outlet right next to the mill engine.  I saw on Amazon what looks like and stick on oil pan heater.  I have no experience with how warm it gets or how long it takes.  
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

barbender

Hmm. I think for your purposes a lot of the options out there cause more of a fire hazard than any benefit of less wear. 

There are dipstick heaters, but those are typically intended for automotive use, sith a longer stick and deeper oil pan. Probably wouldn't be good to have part of the element not immersed in oil. 

There are also varying sizes of adhesive silicon heating pads, if you could find one that would fit on your oil pan. 

I have one of the magnetic pan heaters that I stick on the hydraulic tank of my firewood processor. That works good but you likely have an aluminum block on your small gas engine. 

Too many irons in the fire

Ianab

What engine oil are you using? For example the little Honda engines suggest that 10W-30 is fine between 0 and 80F. In the tropics they recommend 20W-40 for temps 15F to 100+ etc. Or you can cover any scenario with 10W-50 grade. 
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

doc henderson