iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Southern yellow pine

Started by BigZ La, August 31, 2016, 09:52:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BigZ La

If I were to buy air dried southern yellow pine to use for floor joists and have them treated with cca treatment would I need to have them kiln dried?? Thanks for any info.

Den Socling

I'm no expert on air drying SYP but more information is probably needed. Where is the location and how long is the SYP air dried? My educated guess is that you can.

BigZ La

The pine is in South Louisiana and has been cut for a few months. I can let it dry as long as needed to get to the proper moisture level, I'm really just wondering if after it's air dried does it need to be kiln dried if i'm going to treat it with cca. Thanks again.

GeneWengert-WoodDoc

AD is the correct MC for treating.

After treating, it would not be unusual to see the MC over 75% MC, which means they are very heavy.  As they dry in place to their final MC, they will shrink in width and thickness4%, which means a 2x10 that is 1.5 x 9.25 when planed after air drying will shrink to about a final size of 1.42 x 9.0.  This can be important, but even more of an issue is that the SYP is prone to warping during drying to a lower MC, so a few pieces might warp after installation (twist especially) and this can be a real problem.

Note that you always need to place to sixes prior to treating as you do not want treated planer shavings.  Plus, after planing, the amounts of treatment left in the lumber is less.

The more common practive for non-ground contact joists that are kept fairly dry in use is to spray them is a decay resistant coating.  This is quite popular and provides reasonable resistance, but not perfect.  Ask any builder how they do it in your area.