iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Rockler 3 in 1 Cabinet Scraper Sharpening Tool

Started by NE Woodburner, February 13, 2024, 08:11:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NE Woodburner

Does anyone have experience using Rockler's 3 in 1 cabinet scraper sharpening tool?

I like to use a card scraper to flatten glued up panels and clean up glue joints. I find you can't really sand out ridges and imperfections without ending up with a wavy surface (at least I can't). I'm OK at using a card scraper, but getting the burr right to get nice clean shavings instead of sawdust takes some practice and frankly I'm not that good at it and probably don't do it often enough to get better.

I started a maple dining table and want to get the top surface of the table as flat as possible. I have a few blanks glued up and about ready to start scraping. Any feedback would be appreciated.

21incher

I am also interested in an easier way to get a perfect burr every time.  I use a flat file and burnisher but sometimes it takes multiple trys to get an even burr. For first  pass removing hardened glue I use the replaceable blade scrapers that seem to stand up better to it and make the big scrapers stay sharp longer. Maybe tule peak. Has some WOC secrets he can share.
20240213_100521.jpg
Hudson HFE-21 on a custom trailer, Deere 4100, Kubota BX 2360, Echo CS590 & CS310, home built wood splitter, home built log arch, a logrite cant hook and a bread machine. And a Kubota Sidekick with a Defective Subaru motor.

doc henderson

on panels I try to get all the glue off I can.  I let it skim over then with an old chisel, try to hold my mouth just right, and take the bead off clean without penetrating into the grain.  I might us my drum sander later and it is more rigid and flat.  a ROS has a soft pad and the glue can push into the pad and let the outer part sand the surrounding area creating the wave.  even a belt sander would be better with a hard meatal plate under the business portion of the sander.