iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need advice on wood pricing

Started by Alexander, June 22, 2015, 01:15:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alexander

Hello all.

Bare with me as I am brand new to sawmilling and have a lot of questions.

I got a Woodland Mills sawmill a few months ago and started selling wood with it however from what I could find I am really uncertain of what kind of prices I should be charging and there has been a lot of interest from people wanting lumber from me so I need to get my pricing straight.

Right now I have only sold red oak and I have been selling it at $1.25 a board foot. I am doing that price based on what I found somebody else saying they were selling it for. Other than that I am really not sure what to charge for other species. For example I have somebody interested in yellow pine and cherry but I'm not sure what to charge per board foot.

Also I have somebody interested in me cutting their logs for them. One person wants me to cut their pine log and I have somebody else who wants me to cut their oak logs.  I have seen other Sawyers give pricing around $60 dollars an hour, and I also seen some "it depends" when it comes to pricing of cutting somebody else's wood.

And lastly, I have also bought wood to mill myself and sell.  I bought 7 red oak logs for $175 (since it was all I had) however the guy I bought them from said it was pretty low but he would take it.  So basically I just need to know how do I go about buying logs from people.

Thanks a lot for any information

gww