iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Long term lumber storage

Started by Husky546, May 14, 2020, 09:48:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Husky546

Hey guys I'm new to the form (long time reader first time poster) and I'm looking for some advice in regards to longer term lumber storage.

So in 2018 my grandpas hunting land got partially logged off. This is a place I have lots of good memories with him and learned a lot from him. He died several years back and the logger who ended up with the contract knew my grandpa well. As a result I was given a large number of the bigger spruce trees on the property to mill.

My plan was to build a house next year but finances just arnt there. Realistically I'm probably looking at the 5-8 year range before I'm ready to build.

I know my situation isn't ideal but it's the boat I'm in and I really would like to use the wood I milled from my grandpas land to build with. (Kind of a way of keeping him with me).

So my question is in regards to longer term lumber storage. The wood has been stacked outside since august 2018 in an area that is wide open and gets lots of wind. The moisture content is getting very close to be able to plane down and build with it i were ready.

My thought is now that the wood is dry I could and probably should move it inside. At my current house I have a large pole shed with a concrete slab.

So as of now my plan is to move the lumber into the pole shed and use a bunch of 4x4 posts to keep the milled lumber off the slab. Also wouldn't plane it until I'm ready to build.

Anyone have knowledge on storing lumber like this or how long lumber in a covered building is good for? I also don't want to go into building a house with floor joists that arnt any good because they are too old.

Thanks for the help

nopoint

I recently aquired some lumber that has been stored in an open shed on stickers since 1982. Besides getting dirty and dusty no issues. This was a three sided shed so plenty of air movement.

Husky546