iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What is the best way to feed back into the grid?

Started by Weldrite, October 31, 2009, 11:04:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Weldrite

I'm fairly new at all this but I'm starting to think about feeding power back into the grid.  I don't want to make money or really save money, but if I can make it myself I would be that much happier. 

I would like to use my garden tractor to power the whole setup. It's running a 8hp diesel engine which comes out to about a 12hp gas motor.  I would have the generator set up to run off the extra pulley on the tractors crank like a old school belt drive set up.

My question is how should I make the power?  Generate AC? DC then trough a inverter to AC so it is more consistent?  The generator will be tied to the grid do I need to worry about fluctuations?  What is my best plan of attack?

I know it's a lot of questions but it' something I would love to learn more about. 

Thanks for the help.
A Land Rover would never turn up to collect an Oscar. It'd be far too busy doing something important, somewhere, for someone.

sawguy21

What is your reasoning to feed the grid? If you are planning to feed your incoming line it will only go as far as the transformer on the pole. Don't do this without consulting with the utility company, they get real cranky if a lineman gets zapped while working on a line that is supposed to be dead in a power outage. If you want to supply the neighbors during an emergency, you will need a separate line that ties into a manual transfer switch in their house. Your tractor drive generator would have very limited capacity.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

Bart May

Feeding back into the Grid in not as easy as we are led to believe.
I've thought about this allot and ask my Engineering Friends in the power business.
I also hold a Degree Electrical Engineering.