iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Any tips from the experts please??

Started by marty, April 24, 2001, 05:47:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

marty

Well just about done clearing the area where I want to plant my red pines and white spruce. Going to make offset rows in about 1.5 acres. Thinking about 8 feet x 8 feet for spacing. Wanting to make cover for the deer so it this spacing ok? Going to try and spray some roundup cause I see the grasses starting and want to give my trees a good start. Any other tips for planting these trees? This area is right out in the open with some brush piles throughout the area so it will get a lot of sun. It's a sandy loam and notice other pine trees doing real well in there also..........Thanks  Marty 8) 8) 8) 8)

Ron Scott

Your planting prescription sounds good for 1.5 acres. I prefer a 6x8 foot spacing for general forest use, 6 feet between trees and 8 feet between rows if you are planting in rows.
~Ron

Tom

Marty
I'm no expert and new to the board but I do have a small 45 acre tree farm on my place and use the Division of Forestry regularly for help.

My last planting of Southern Yellow Pine was a 3 acre strip  60' wide that runs beside my drive. It was recommended that I shoot for 6x8 plantings like Ron recommended but initially to make them 3x8 or 4x8.

After about 4-6 years thin them to the desired 6'.  The thinnings are throw-aways and only used to get the trees to grow up rather than out.  This promotes a straight stem and minimizes limbs.  What you are looking for is a tree approx 8'-10'ft tall that, when left from the thinning will canopy over the remaining gap and continue to promote self-pruning.

12 to 15 years I'm to thin again.  I'm told that the easiest way is to take out every other or every third row depending on how good they are growing. This wood is pulp.