iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Intro & Question

Started by Scratch, August 31, 2005, 10:48:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scratch

Hello Everyone,
New user here and I wanted to take a minute to say hello and introduce myself. My name's Paul and I'm a complete newby at this whole timberframe thing. I have a day job, but as the wife says, "it's only to support the woodworking habit". My woodworking endeavors up to now have been along the lines of boatbuilding and the typical hobbyist stuff. I'm currently in the process of completely restoring a 1954 28ft Chris Craft cruiser - a major project, but one that I'm enjoying very much.

We recently bought a 20 acre tract of land here in Alabama and I finally get to have some space to spread out on with my projects. Of course, spreading out isn't worth much unless you can keep stuff dry and secure, right? Anyway, I've always wanted to build a post and beam barn and now that i have the place, etc., I ain't gettin' any younger, know what I mean?

I've spent quite a bit of time reading everything I can get my hands on. I'm to the point where I've got a handle on the theory (for my first, simple project) but need to bounce questions and ideas off folks with experience. In my mind, practical experience in an area such as this beats theory on most days.

My first project is going to be a small barn/large shed based upon the design in Timberframe Construction by Jack Sobon & Roger Shroeder. I'll post my specific questions in a separate post so as to not turn this one into a book.

Anyway, glad I found this forum and I look forward to contributing what I can and learning from the more experienced hands.

Take Care, Paul

OneWithWood

Welcome aboard, Scratch.
You have found your port in the storm  8)
One With Wood
LT40HDG25, Woodmizer DH4000 Kiln

Dan