iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New wood splitter

Started by jollyrogers100, December 05, 2016, 04:44:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jollyrogers100

Hello, I'm in the market for a new woodsplitter.   My budget is around 2k.  I'm looking at ones at the local TSC and was wondering if anyone has any thoughts on those.  I would like one with a stationary wedge, but cant seem to find anything.  Any help would be appreciated. 
Energy King 480EK, 1967 Ford 4000, 12 Ft flat bed trailer, Husqvarna 455 Rancher And a Farm and Fleet 3pt splitter

gasman1075

I have been splitting wood for myself for almost 30 years and bought a Timberwolf TW-P1 about 10 years ago with a 5HP Honda. I have had zero issues with it and recommend it highly. I cut, skid, split and burn 5-7 cord per year in upstate NY. I added the table grate option and if I had it do do over again I would go up a size so I could add the hydraulic lift for the big stuff so I didn't have to use my tractor. I split mainly red oak, ash. I had less expensive models before and would not buy a mass merchant splitter again nor will I lend my splitter out to family or friend. I also recently purchased a Norwood hydraulic skid winch and that has been very useful.

Thanks

Jack
JD 2302R/Stihl MS461/Stihl MS261/ Timberwolf TW-P1/ new left hip /

gasman1075

dave_dj1

I don't know how much wood you are going to spit each year but you would be hard pressed to beat the value of one of the TSC sub 1K splitters.
I agree with wanting the wedge stationary but for the money they are a great unit.

jollyrogers100

I'm going to split about 10 cord a year, elm, ash, red and white oak, hard and soft maple, a little of everything.  I have a splitter that runs off of the tractor hydro's, but it's seen better days and everything is starting to break down on it except the cylinder. 
Energy King 480EK, 1967 Ford 4000, 12 Ft flat bed trailer, Husqvarna 455 Rancher And a Farm and Fleet 3pt splitter

bmcdowell40