iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

storing logs

Started by brdmkr, July 14, 2005, 10:20:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

brdmkr

As many know, I have a Lucas 618 coming 8).  What you may not know is that I want to clear some land and build a shed to house this thing when not in use.  So, I need to cut down some trees, then clear the land for a shed and a pole barn.   This means I'll have a bunch of logs on the ground at one time.  Given that I will only be able to saw on Saturdays and after work, what is the best way to store the logs to minimize degrade in the lumber.

Sorry for asking beginner questions.   Wait, no I'm not.  I AM a beginner ;D
Lucas 618  Mahindra 4110, FEL and pallet forks, some cant hooks, and a dose of want-to

Tom

Logs that are constantly wet (fewer bugs) remain in better condition, longer than logs that are allowed to dry (split).

Logs that are wet and and then dry, then wet, then dry, etc., will rot quickly.

The very best thing is to saw the logs quickly.
The best place for a log to be stored for as much as a year, is under water in a pond.
The next best thing is for a pile of logs to be off of the ground and sprinkled constantly.

Some wood will remain pristine longer than other woods.  Species, climate, cleanliness, time of year, geographical area, all of these things have something to do with the length of time a log will last.

A month is probably safe for the bulk of your wood if you aren't concerned about non-strength robbing stain.

DanG

What kind of trees are ya gonna cut?  How many?  Best thing for the lumber would be to leave'm standing till you're ready to saw them, but that may not be possible, given your plans for a shed.  Whatcha doing this weekend??
"I don't feel like an old man.  I feel like a young man who has something wrong with him."  Dick Cavett
"Beat not thy sword into a plowshare, rather beat the sword of thine enemy into a plowshare."

Jason_WI