iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How to Measure

Started by summerjob, September 21, 2005, 10:24:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

summerjob

When custom cutting or selling lumber, how do you calculate board footage.  I have been milling for five years now and I get a lot of repeat business, but I want to make sure I am being fair to everyone.  When I custom saw, I wait until the end of the day and measure all of the piles as a total volume (width x height of stack x lenght in feet and divide by 12).  I then charge by the board feet.  However when I have a single board left and it is 4/4 should I say it is 1 1/8 thick or should I just call it a 1 in thick.  I know some people charge by the hour and I am aware of the pros and cons.  I just feel it is more fair for my manual mill to charge by the board foot.  And if I choose to stop for some reason I don't have to feel the customer is paying for it.  I encounter the same dilema when I sell 4/4 lumber.
Thanks in advance for your responses.

Dan_Shade

a board foot is 12" wide by 12" long by 1" thick

to calculate: thickness of board (in) x width of board(in inches) x length(in feet) / 12

ex: a 1"x6"x8' is 4 board feet

for thickness, the way I understand it is anything less than 5/4 is considered 4/4, the 5/4 starting point would be 1.25"
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

DonE911

well, I was cutting with a manual chainsaw mill.  When I sold lumber out of my stock this is what I did.