iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Can Magnolia be used for firewood

Started by clww, January 08, 2011, 08:27:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clww

I went to a landowners house this afternoon. He has a large live magnolia tree with several damaged limbs broken off from the 14.5" of snow we had on 26 December. He asked me if he could burn this as firewood, once it has seasoned. I told him I had never tried to burn any magnolia and had no idea. I also told him I'd look on the FF for any knowledge. Open for input.
Many Stihl Saws-16"-60"
"Go Ask The Other Master Chief"
18-Wheeler Driver

Tom

Sweet Bay magnolia that I have burned, burns quickly and doesn't form many coals.  It burns to a fine white ash, but it does burn fairly hot. 

I would think that Magnolia Grandiflora would do the same, but I have no experience.

SwampDonkey

If it's not a traditional firewood species in your area than it likely has lower heat value. If you wanted fall wood, I would think I would use it then. It's kind of the same situation I suspect when considering white birch and aspen. Good for fall wood or starting the morning fire, but some nice hard maple, beech, hickory or oak is needed for a cooking fire. ;D

I don't know how many times I've heard people rave over apple wood for heat. I had some seasoned for over a year and it was closest to the furnace door in the fall of the year. I burnt it and it went fast, not a lot of heat to it. As soon as I started into my hard maple I was warm. ;D
"No amount of belief makes something a fact." James Randi

1 Thessalonians 5:21

2020 Polaris Ranger 570 to forward firewood, Husqvarna 555 XT Pro, Stihl FS560 clearing saw and continuously thinning my ground, on the side. Grow them trees. (((o)))

clww

Thanks for the speedy replies! ;D I'm going back today, so I'll tell him what I have garnered here on the Forum.
Many Stihl Saws-16"-60"
18-Wheeler Driver

tyb525

I would be interested in cutting some bowl blanks or lumber if I were you :)