iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Please identify this part found in an old logging camp

Started by raw75, October 24, 2012, 04:04:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

raw75

First post, so my apologies if this is not the right place for this question. The part pictured below was found with several just like it in an abandoned logging camp in New England that was serviced by rail and once had its own mill. It reminds me of the set works for a log carriage, but it's not like any I have seen before. I'm no expert, so I'm hoping that someone here recognizes it and can tell me what it is. I can post some pictures of the others that were found, but the one below is really the best photo available.  Thanks for any information you might have.

Also, I have several photos of other mystery objects. Are questions about them welcome in this forum? If not, can you recommend a better one? Most of the artifacts would be from the 1890s-1920s time frame.

Texas Ranger

The Ranger, home of Texas Forestry

POSTON WIDEHEAD

#1. Welcome to the Forestry Forum Raw75
#2. CONGRATULATIONS on your first post and getting pictures to come up......and by the way, a great pic at that.
#3. Please post any other mystery pics you have. There's some pretty good "guessers" on here.  :)
#4. No......there isn't another Forum website that even comes close to the information you will get on here.
#5. I DON'T HAVE A CLUE as to what kind of tool is in your pic!  :D :D :D

You'll have a lot of fun on here Raw. I can't wait to read some of the comments that will come in later this evening about your mystery tool.

Welcome again my friend. Where are you from? What do you do? Thanks!  smiley_thumbsup
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

isawlogs

Would be most welcomed here. If you have more pics of different angles or of different finds.. put um up !!!  :)  I can only saye it looks like a peice of rust ...  ::) 

A man does not always grow wise as he grows old , but he always grows old as he grows wise .