iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New to the forum and have a few ?'s

Started by JP12, September 15, 2012, 10:00:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JP12

Hey guys! I am new here, been lurking for a few years actually. A little about myself--been in and out of the wood products industry for the past ten years (Furniture manufacturing, sawmills, cabinet shops, Etc.). I have a degree in forestry/wood products, but currently working in the ag industry now for 4-5 years.
I have done some searching on the forum and see a lot of guys doing TSI on the side to get started in logging. I have done a few small acreage TSI projects for some friends who have woods, but I am curious as to how some of you approach other landowners and negotiate contracts. Do you charge hourly or by the acre? How do you negotiate the wood coming off the property? Do you bid on jobs or are you hired by word of mouth?

Sorry for the long post and I am sure everyone's milage will vary, but curious about details from the more experienced. Thanks!  :)

Sixacresand

Welcome to the Forum.  There are experienced people here that can answer your questions. 
"Sometimes you can make more hay with less equipment if you just use your head."  Tom, Forestry Forum.  Tenth year with a LT40 Woodmizer,

mad murdock

Welcome JP12! It's been years since I logged full time in N Wisconsin and the U P, we logged mostly private timber and payed the landowner stumpage. Out here in the PNW private logging is done by contract usually, the going rate for the logger is 25-30% of log value.
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D

Autocar