iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timber Volume tables

Started by Darly, March 06, 2004, 05:51:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Darly

Can anyone suggest a sources/links for Timber Volume tables, Northeast Florida/ Southeast Georgia, Pine? I'm a lawyer in North Florida trying to help a client/relative who does not use the Internet but works in the timber industry.
DJC

Fla._Deadheader

By "Timber Volume", are you talking about board feet per log, or board feet per tree, or what exactly are you looking for???
All truth passes through three stages:
   First, it is ridiculed;
   Second, it is violently opposed; and
   Third, it is accepted as self-evident.

-- Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860)

Darly

I am looking for both, tho this is standing timber in Lafayette County, Florida. I have reviewed ya'll's site and the Internet. Good info for some states, skimpy in other on the Net. I will be posting results whenever obtained.
DJC

Ron Wenrich

I don't know of any volume table for standing timber.  Usually, a forester will go out and cruise the timber and give you a volume amd value estimate.  

The process involves going out and measuring the trees for diameter and estimating merchantible tree height.  From those 2 measurements, you look up the appropriate volume on a spread sheet.  Volume can be measured in many board rules and will vary from area to area.

If you're looking at a timber trespass, volumes can be estimated by measuring stump diameter.

There may be some local volume tables that your state forestry office has developed.  Most mills go with a standard board rule like Doyle or International.

What is your client looking to do with the volume table?  
Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

SwampDonkey

Darly:

Here's some slash pine volume tables

http://www.sfrc.ufl.edu/Extension/pubtxt/Cir662.html

click on the Table links embedded in the text.

You could ask the USDA in Florida for standard volume tables