iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Torn between two samills....................

Started by Burlkraft, October 04, 2005, 05:34:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Burlkraft

Hi All,
This is my first post, so let me start out by saying that you all seem to be very helpful and friendly and I do believe that I have come to the right place. I have been building furniture for about 20 years now....some pieces better than others, but all in all I love doing it. I was raised on a farm and have just recently bought a piece of Wisconsin land that I hope to build my final resting place on. I have several customers at my business that are tree guys and for quite some time I have had access to some beautiful logs. I have been hauling logs all over to mills and when I found a guy that I really liked he now does very little sawing because of parkinsons disease. It's time for me to get my own mill and start sawing my own logs. I have been putting money away for an HD40, but a friend of mine was telling me about swing blades. I checked out the Lucas on Bailey's site and I am really impressed. The thought of milling them where they fall appeals to me. I also see they offer a slabbing attachment. I make a lot of slab tables for customers, mainly out of maple, cherry and redwood (I have a friend in Eurica, CA.) So now I'm torn......bandsaw or swing blade????? What would you guys do??? I'm looking for honest input and sound advise. From what I've seen here this forum is full of that....and more!!!!

Thanks,

Steve
Why not just 1 pain free day?

Ron Wenrich

Welcome to the board.

Most anyone will tell you that it depends on what you want to saw.  How large of logs will you normally be sawing?  Is quartersawn lumber of great interest?  Are wide boards of interest?

From what I've seen, swing mills can give you easier access to quartersawn lumber.  They also handle reallly bid logs really well.  But, there is a lot of grunt work involved.