iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Old Woodmizer Power Feed Issues

Started by Firegrass318, May 27, 2023, 05:16:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Firegrass318

This is my first time ever posting on any forums, so bear with me.

A couple years ago I bout a 1984 Woodmizer LT 40 that had been converted from a 3 phase electric motor to a gas motor, per the guy I bought it from.

It has had its moments of greatness and then sadness.  I don't really know how many board feet I have sawed with it, but I'd say I have put a couple hundred hours on it.  I just use it for personal projects and I just really like sawing.  Most recently I was having some problems with the power feed being very inconsistent.  I re-wired everything(just replaced the old wires that were in bad shape) and also replaced the drive motor(forward and reverse).  Now, when I first start running the mill, it runs great, but after some time, maybe 2 hours, I start to have to manually push the mill through the wood and pull back.  The power feed works, but will randomly stop or be very weak and I have to physically assist.

Let me be clear, I am a house builder, not a mechanic or electrical guru.  I am pretty good at problem solving with most everything and enjoy a challenge, but this is getting old.

I have ordered a new drum switch from Woodmizer, as the contact points are showing a ton of wear.  Some are paper thin where the connection would start when the switch is pushed in that particular direction.  Only thing I can come up with is these connections are just to weak to supply the right amount of power.  I must also note that the battery is very old, but cranks the motor every time with no lag.

Thanks in advance for any direction for a very frustrated hobby sawyer!!

Old Greenhorn

First thing to check: feed drive belt tension, its kind of important.
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products