iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking at buying an LT50 Super

Started by Dieseltim, March 17, 2024, 09:51:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dieseltim

I went to look at a couple of sawmills this afternoon.

I have been running an lt40 for a few years ( maybe 6-7). It belongs to someone else, but I get to use it when I want, it just can't leave the property per the owners instructions.

So, I thought I might look at owning one that I can take wherever I want. I found out about an estate sale and went to look at a Lucas 723, and and woodmizer lt50 super. He says that it's a wide model but I'm not sure until I can talk to WM tomorrow.
What I could tell looking at it in the rain, was that it is an lt50 and that it has accu set 2. The board return has been removed, and it looks like it has been outside in the weather since 2013 when it was manufactured. I'm pretty sure it is a diesel engine. But, it was up on a trailer that he had used to move it home on, to keep it from being stolen from the estate that is now vaccinated. It will need 2 tires just to move it around or down the road.

The hour meter says 1070. I'm pretty sure that the PO used it for his pallet business. So, he might have bought it new. The son that is selling everything, doesn't know much about any of the equipment, and doesn't really care to fix any of it. He just wants everything gone.

I'm planning on going back over in a few days to get the LT50 unloaded off the trailer and hopefully get it to start up and run. I plan on trying to make sure everything is still operational before I make my offer.

Right now he is asking $28,000. That includes all of the band blades that are still in boxes, and the siding attachment that I found in one of the sheds. There's probably 150-200 blades for it.

The Lucas 723 is fairly new 2020, but someone took off the carb, lost it and probably let rain get into the engine. It's locked up.