iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Average Sawyer Age ?

Started by SCSawyer, August 29, 2007, 09:05:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SCSawyer

Hey guys I was told today that I was to young to know much about sawing and was wondering what the average age of the sawyers is in here so I will know if I can tell this feller to ~#^* well you get my point >:( Thanks guys ???
Silas S. Roberts , Bluff Mtn. Timber

saw4you

I am 33 just got my sawmill almost 2 years ago, but I have been a carpenter all my life

DanG

Well Silas, that's a really interesting question, and one I hope a lot of people will answer.  Let's see now.....I've been on this earth as a semi-active human for 61 years, and I've been sawing for 5 years.  61+5 is 66, and half of that is 33, so I guess my average sawing age is 33. ;D

I'uz jist pullin' yer leg there ::) but I did have a point to make.  It doesn't matter how old you are or even how long you've been sawing.  What matters is how much you know about it and how good you are at bringing that knowledge to bear.  Basically, it boils down to how much homework you have done.  Now, with only 5 years experience, I think I'm a fairly competent sawyer on the type of mill I run.  I haven't sawn millions of board feet, but I care about what I'm doing and I have put a lot of effort into the learning process.  I think about every log and try to get the very best lumber out of it that the log has to offer.  There is still an awful lot for me to learn, and I probably won't live long enough to consider myself an expert, but I'm pretty happy with where I am right now. :)

Your profile says you're 31, so you could easily have much more sawing time than I have. ;)  How long have you been sawing?

I hope everybody will post their age and sawing time too. ;D
"I don't feel like an old man.  I feel like a young man who has something wrong with him."  Dick Cavett
"Beat not thy sword into a plowshare, rather beat the sword of thine enemy into a plowshare."

Tom