Forum > Sawmills and Milling

Many Question about starting sawmill business

(1/5) > >>

Keith_A:
Hello everyone. I have been lurking at this sight and woodweb for several weeks now and am finally ready to ask some questions. So far the best info I have been able to find on the small sawmill business has come from you and woodweb.
     First some basic background.  I am in the military and am planning on gettting out in the middle of next year.  My wife and I are ready to settle down and call some place home permanently.  I could get out of the Navy and get a job in corporate America but that is not much more appealing than staying in the Navy.  To make a long story short, I am an avid woodworker, like the outdoors, and think that I could wake up in the morning and feel good about running a sawmill.  I am thinking along the lines, that if I can find a job I love I will never have to work another day (someone famous said that I think).
     My question list is literally endless but here are some I would love to hear some opinions on:

1) Does it matter hugely where I start this business? I think most people who do this have lived where they are for some time.  I have moved around alot in my life and there is no place that my wife and I have to move home to, but we both loved Tennessee when we went to school there.  We are thinking Tennessee, Kentucky or Alabama. She has family in Kentucky, I have family in Alabama.
2) If I am willing to work hard and do a good job, can I make a living? I am hoping to maybe do more than just sawing. Eventually I would like to saw, kiln dry, plane, mould?, maybe try retailing on a small scale to hobbyists, and a little tree farming. I have read alot about milling rates(seems 20-30 cents a bf is the norm) and by simply running the numbers it seems possible to make 50k+ a year IF you can keep your saw busy.

These are just 2 of hundreds of questions I have.  Please I would love to hear any ideas.