iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

My New To Me John Deere Skidder

Started by Coon, December 09, 2011, 05:50:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Coon

Well I went for a drive yesterday and picked it up for an unbeatable price..... FREE.    :D

This machine is a 1981 John Deere Trailfire with a 340 fan cooled engine.  It is in pretty good shape for it's age and all it needs is the carb redone. 

I have a skidding arch that I built specifically for pulling behind a snowmobile that I will be using.  I have also at times used just a grab hook on the hitch and a chain with a slip hook on one end.
Norwood Lumbermate 2000 w/Kohler,
Husqvarna, Stihl and, Jonsereds Saws

T Welsh

lumberjack48

Make yourself a skid pan, 3/8 plate should be heavy enough. When i was in MT. i worked as a rigging man behind a D8, they all pulled skid pans. The trees didn't dig in and the skid road stayed smooth.

Nice Ole ride  8)
Third generation logger, owner operator, 30 yrs felling experience with pole skidder. I got my neck broke back in 89, left me a quad. The wife kept the job going up to 96.

Dave Shepard

I ran into one of those once, on a four wheeler. Landed in a ditch, hat froze to my head.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

Coon

I actually have a skid pan of sorts too.    ;)  It's called an old car hood.  It works good for firewood but never really used one to pull out sawlogs.  I may narrow up the hood I have, put a better hitch on it and reinforce the two sides a bit so I can tie logs down. 

If I get time this winter I would also like to build a komatik style sled similar to what Quebecnewf uses.  I have a couple small areas that I want to take out logs from but it is way on the back end of the property and will probably be a mile long trek to get them to the mill.  :)