iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

buying a MS 880 - looking for bar options

Started by pshupe, May 30, 2020, 01:23:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pshupe

Good afternoon.  I just joined this forum today.  I've been milling logs as a hobby for about 7 yrs now.  I started with a MS 460 and an Alaskan mill and now have a MS 660 with Alaskan mil and a Logosol F2+.  I'm finding most of the time I get a call it is about a very large diameter but short chunk of a log that the arborist or city don't want to move or try and chip.  So I'm buying a MS 880 to cut about 40" widths.  I haven't bought the saw yet, just getting prices.  What are my bar options for around 48" bars?  My Alaskan sawmill tops out at 48" and I'm thinking most of the logs will be around 30" - 40" in diameter.  Anything smaller I can use my 660 with a 36" bar.  The Stihl 47" bar is an option but it's Can$450.  That seems a little pricey but might be reasonable??  Thanks for any tips.

Cheers Peter.

sawguy21

Welcome! The long bars are specialty low production items and the prices reflect that. We are also victims of an unfavorable exchange rate. Oregon is readily available in Canada but don't know if they can supply the length you want. Cannon is high quality and Canadian made but expensive.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

pshupe

Thanks for the quick response.  I was hoping it was a case of the dealer having an over priced saw branded item that is making him more money.  TBH I thought those big bars would be in the $250 range seeing as my 36" for my 660 wasn't much north of $150.  I checked Oregon and Cannon and couldn't find the length I want.  Might just have to call and talk to a human. 

Thanks again.

Regards Peter.

pshupe