iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Log building

Started by Mainecoast, September 26, 2021, 07:30:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mainecoast

Howdy,

I've been interested in learning log building for years. I picked up a book by Allen Mackie. It's pretty sweet and I haven't actually gone page by page and absorbed it all yet. I also learn very quickly hands on..is there anyone around Maine who is building one of these I could help with? I'm around the bar harbor area. Maybe I just need to put the sweat n blood (men don't cry right?) into my own small cabin to get this going. 

I built a timber frame pavilion a few years ago and I can't recall it being super challenging. I'm a builder/cabinet maker so I have some experience with being finicky.

I'm just curious if anyone has insight into this?

I grew up in a log cabin way up north. Chainsaw and axe marks all over the place. It wasn't scribed together or anything fancy. Just rope chinking and some chainsawed saddle joints. It was really cool as a kid and now when I go back I notice all those chainsaw marks and loose joints. 

I'd really like to build the old time hunting cabins. Short walls, log purlins sticking way out over the porch. Figured someone would have some input.

Thanks!

doc henderson

sounds neat, and you are young enough to pull it off.  I do not have the knowledge you seek.  but others will chime in.  I will follow.
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

Mainecoast

I think I'm young enough! 32..we're about to finish up our cabins down here on the coast...not timber framed or logs but simple artistic camps. Then we're heading back north. 

jake pogg

I've been building with logs for a couple decades +,and been doing this current project since May.