iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

acceptable types of timber

Started by fjkid, November 07, 2005, 07:40:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fjkid

Hello to All,

This is my first time asking a question with im sure many more to follow.  Im stuck in Colorado right now and as soon as my house sells we are moving home to the great northwoods of MN.  I know next to nothing about timber framing (all I asked for from santa is timber framing books), but I have a fantasy of getting a portable sawmill and cutting and drying all my own wood to build my house.  My question is this,  can I cut pine from my property to build with or will I have to order fir or hemlock to make my timbers?  I think most of what I have seen on the net is mostly fir or hemlock construction but im not sure.  Maybe I dont even want to use pine.  But anyhow if youre from the area and could let me know more or even to let me know what the regulations are where youre timber frame is at  it would be greatly appreciated.  Take care.

ARKANSAWYER

Welcome to the FF and ask away.   Up north you will find white pine and there are many frames made from it.  Also there is northern white cedar and I have seen some frame work with it.  There are many types of trees there that can be used if you buy land that have trees large enough to saw into timbers.  It's a fine dream and a man needs a dream.
ARKANSAWYER
ARKANSAWYER

Deadwood

I don't think your dream is really a dream. Years ago that's how most homes were built, using wood they had on hand, sawing their own lumber, using the skills they had.

Here in the Northeast anyway there are a slew of old houses and barns that are still standing despite being built out of plumb, not square or unlevel. They built them the best they could with the skills they had.