iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

cant hook advice

Started by caveman, August 18, 2011, 10:50:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

caveman

I am relatively new to sawing and need some advice on which logrite canthook to purchase.  A little background information-I have two canthooks with 5' handles that do okay but do not hook as easily as the one I have with the 4' handle.  The last time I sawed, I was turning a slash pine that was 26" on the small end and broke the handle on my canthook with the 4' handle.  It is the tool I use most of the time.  Would you reccomend that I buy a 4' or 5' logrite to replace the one I busted?  We have an LT 28 (no hydraulics or winch).  Thank  you. Caveman
Caveman

carykong

I had a logrite cant hook. With the aluminum handle.  The hook engaged the logs really well but the handle slowly developed a warp. Aluminum handles are light and strong,unfortunately aluminum does not have the memory and spring that returns it to its original shape.  I returned the canthook for a refund.  I would recommend that you go with a cant hook with a hickory or ash handle.

If you use your hook a lot, you will not be satisfied with an aluminum handle.

Actually before I returned the logrite. I took the cant hook to my local weld shop to copy the hook (lower portion including hook) and made a 6' foot handle out of hickory.  This hook gives me plenty of leverage for the larger logs. 

BTW,do you have a log turner on your LT28?

redbeard

I have never warped or bent mine and it has moved some heavy logs. I like the light weight and handle diameter.
Whidbey Woodworks and Custom Milling  2019 Cooks AC 3662T High production band mill and a Hud-son 60 Diesel wide cut bandmill  JD 2240 50hp Tractor with 145 loader IR 1044 all terrain fork lift  Cooks sharp

Jeff

QuoteIf you use your hook a lot, you will not be satisfied with an aluminum handle.

BULL!