iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Second floor bathroom question

Started by BigJim2185, June 09, 2014, 07:43:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BigJim2185

Guys - first off, thank you for an informative forum.  I am in the planning phase of a DIY timber frame build that I plan to complete over the next ~5 years.  I'm a beginner, so bear with me.

I'm wondering what you guys have done for flooring systems under second floor bathrooms.  I have maple to work with for floors, and was planning to go with 2x6 T&G decking until I started trying to figure my plumbing.  I would like to have pocketed joists and a T&G ceiling visible on the first floor.  The only thing coming to mind is to go with a thinner T&G under the bathroom, then stick frame a raised floor under this room to run plumbing.

Question 1: is this a viable solution?

Question 2: It would mean a step up into the bathroom (not the end of the world...you're already upstairs anyway), which I would like to avoid if I could. Any way to avoid this other than doing the same flooring system for the entire upstairs? 

Thanks for the help guys.  Feel free to yell at me for having no idea what I'm doing.       
-Thomas 8020 w/10' extension
-New Holland TC45D w/ fel and farmi jl501

shinnlinger

I simply prepainted my PVC plumbing black and bought some solid hangers.  Quick, Cheap and easy.  I figured a dropped area would draw more attention than simply showing my pipes.   If you wanted to spring for cast or copper, all the better.

Dave
Shinnlinger
Woodshop teacher, pasture raised chicken farmer
34 horse kubota L-2850, Turner Band Mill, '84 F-600,
living in self-built/milled timberframe home

Brian_Weekley

Quote from: shinnlinger on June 09, 2014, 08:20:09 PM
I simply prepainted my PVC plumbing black and bought some solid hangers.  Quick, Cheap and easy.  I figured a dropped area would draw more attention than simply showing my pipes.   If you wanted to spring for cast or copper all the better.