iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Topping Up Truck AC

Started by lxskllr, May 29, 2019, 05:42:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lxskllr

Bought some refrigerant a couple years ago; mainly for the pressure gauge so I could check out a problem, but I didn't need any juice at that time. AC hasn't been working great, so I checked it today, and it was low. It was a real struggle getting anything in the system. The hose wouldn't simply click in place. It all was a dying strain keeping it pressed in place while I checked the pressure, and tried to add refrigerant. I didn't get it where I wanted, but it's blowing colder, so I'm calling it a win for now.

Anyone else have issues like that? Bad hose maybe? It's the first time I've filled AC. Looked like a straightforward job, but it was a real hassle getting it in, and I lost some in the process.

alan gage

I do automotive AC for a living and have never understood how people are supposed to get a proper charge with those kits they sell. That's not to say it can't be done but I've only ever seen them with a gauge on the low side and you need to see both high and low side pressures (and understand what they mean) to do a proper top off. You'd be better off walking around the system with your hands feeling the line temps on both high and low side but, again, you need to know what normal feels like.

And if the system is empty it needs to be evacuated with a vacuum pump to remove the air and moisture. Otherwise air contamination will have the system pressures running too high. We see this quite often when people use these kits to fill an empty system.