iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Progression, innovation, pride

Started by hackberry jake, June 09, 2012, 01:45:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hackberry jake

Do you guys feel a sort of pride when you look at one of your first woodworking attempts and compare it to something you have made recently? I see things I made when I first got interested. I didn't have a jointer when I made a lot of my first projects, so all the glue joints were sloppy and sometimes my panels/tops didn't have glue and were just boards side by side. I didn't know as much about moisture and wood movement so I had a few fails over that. I began putting "fancy router edges" on my work, and learned a lot about finishes. There is still a lot to learn, but for being self taught, I think I'm coming along nicely. I messaged calebL earlier and he is going to a hand dovetail cutting class. That don't sound like a half bad idea. I've always wondered how people make them look so perfect by hand. Anyways, I'm gunna get off my soapbox now. Do you guys feel pride when you compare past to present works?
https://www.facebook.com/TripleTreeWoodworks

EZ Boardwalk Jr. With 20hp Honda, 25' of track, and homemade setworks. 32x18 sawshed. 24x40 insulated shop. 30hp kubota with fel. 1978 Massey ferguson 230.

Lud