iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Do you lower your board foot price for "big" jobs

Started by woeboy, June 16, 2010, 10:26:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woeboy

hi all, cheers from down here on the oily gulf coast :( >:( the smell today was horrible!!! i dont know how the people to in La. and Miss. breathe. It cannot be healthy :(

So does anyone lower their prices for big jobs? What is considered a big job to you?

Me? I have an all manual mill, sometime help sometimes not (as a suppose many of you deal with also), I charge 0.25 for 1000 bf or more. To me a job that has more than 4000 bf is considered a "big job", though I do not lower my price any big jobs. Having said this the biggest job I've done so far was 4700 bf.  I have had a few calls for qoutes on jobs between 3000-8000 bf, but they seem stuned that I dont offer a discount for bigger jobs and off they go, I guess to someone else  ;) :D

thanks for the responses,
Jason

malcolmtent

I'm no expert on this at all, but I bid on a job at a golf course with a few hundred logs just the other day, and no, I didn't lower my price. I actually quoted 5c/ft more than my base price.

Why? Because I wanted to leave room for the client to talk me down, which he hasn't (so far.) And also, I don'g want to spend a month at a site regretting my fee structure.

Especially the latter.

DR Buck

Quote from: woeboy on June 16, 2010, 10:26:12 PM

So does anyone lower their prices for big jobs? What is considered a big job to you?

Why would I want to lower my price?   The first board foot is the same as the last no matter if it's 10 bf or 10,000 bf.  And, my price is non-negotiable.   35¢ a board foot.  Take it or leave it.   It don't matter to me.  I always wish them luck if they think they can get it milled cheaper somewhere else.   My minimum is $350 if I go portable.  So anything up to 1000 bf is the same cost unless they bring the logs to me.
Been there, done that.   Never got caught [/b]