iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Do I NEED a planer attachment?

Started by MisterOzark, July 13, 2015, 02:26:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MisterOzark

My goal is to build my own timber frame home, with wood cut from my 46 acres of red/white/black oak.
I'm looking at an EZ Boardwalk Jr mill, because of the price point and the great reviews I've read. (Dad wants to reclaim an old family circular saw mill and use it, but I think that'd be more misery than joy)
But I'm an utter novice, having never run a mill in my life. The largest timbers I expect I'll be cutting are 7"x12"s for my beams.
So, 2 questions:
1. Is milling something that a guy can readily learn how to do, using something like the EZ? I'm not a stranger to small power tools.
2. Do I need a mill with a planer attachment in order to end up with square timbers? I'm a bit confused on this -- looks like WoodMizer has this kind of thing, but EZ doesn't. I'm comfortable with checking and making minor adjustments for perfect-squareness at my reference points on the timber... so what's the point of planing? Just a smoother board face?
Pardon my ignorance, I know it's showing :)
"There lives the dearest freshness deep down things" - Hopkins
I try not to take myself too seriously... but I usually fail.

taylorsmissbeehaven

You can cut square timbers without a planer. There is a bit of a learning curve and some mistakes will be made. I have been sawing for 5 years now and still have to look and be sure I will clear the backstops!!. This being said, you can pick up on ways of handling logs and lumber pretty quickly. Be patient and pay attention and you should learn quickly. There are many folks here with far more experience that can help answer questions as they arise.