iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Question about Excel

Started by David Freed, March 02, 2008, 05:03:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

David Freed

I have a question about the computer program Excel if anyone thinks they could answer it. Although I have been using it for lots of simple things for several months, I finally decided to tax my brain and try to set up something more complicated. I may have only reinvented the wheel, (there is probably already a program that does this), but I wanted to spend some time to learn what Excel can do.
     I have made a simple program for floors with 2 or 3 widths that will show what size blanks to cut from different size boards, and shows approximately what percentage of waste I will have going from rough lumber to finished flooring. It allows for some boards being crooked and also allows for the saw kerf on each blank. The blank guide helps reduce waste, and the waste estimator will let me more closely estimate how much lumber I need to buy for a certain floor. I am sure I will need to refine it some as I use it in the real world, but I hope it will take out a some of the guesswork as well as save time and money.
     Now for the question, if I can explain it. I have drop down lists to select the blanks from that shows the sum of width in inches of the blanks that I can get from a board. I have assigned each sum a name. I need to see the number to be able to choose the right one, but it would make things a lot easier if it would switch to its name after I choose a number. I have been reading help files and just randomly trying different things but I can't figure it out. This whole process took me a while to do, and the answer may be staring me in the face, but I'm not seeing it. Any ideas?

Dan_Shade