iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Stihl MS 260 Pro

Started by chenangokid, March 26, 2021, 08:12:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chenangokid

hello  i am new to forum   thanks for having me    i am not a mechanic but i do some repairs  
i bought a used ms 260 pro    very clean    i am having trouble getting it to idle properly   
it will fluctuate  and sometimes  stall    but cuts well on full throttle.  
ok  the piston and cylinder are perfect  .  i checked gas line   , impulse line , and intake boot all looked fine   but i replaced them any way  and no change . it still had  orig carb  wt 403   with only  L adjustment and  La   so i replaced with cheap China carb    still  same prob .   i also replaced fuel line .    i also checked crank case  pressure and vacuum   they both held  perfect .
i also cleaned  exhaust screen  which was   dirty    and drilled 2 extra  3/16  holes in muffler and still no change .   i would appreciate any ideas  thank you  .   it is a very clean looking saw  .  
thanks for any suggestions  

chenangokid

P S  i also changed  air filter 

chenangokid

one more thing  my next move was gonna be   buying  a  walbro  wt 194   and try that

DHansen

What will the saw do if you lightly choke it while at idle?   After it stalls does it restart easy, or hard?  Do you have to choke it again when you try to restart it?   After a stall out and before attempting a restart, pull the spark plug and see if it is wet or dry?  Black or tan electrode color?  Have you tried, while the saw is running, spraying carburetor spray near the clutch side crankshaft seal?

chenangokid

not sure what happens if i lightly choke it    i will try  tommorrow     it restarts easy    but i have to give it some throttle   .    the plug is  slightly black     no i did not try spraying   car b spray  on clutch  side of crank seal     but both  pressure and vacuum test held perfect   .  

DHansen