iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Thick 'n thin, flipping, 2x and 1x lumber

Started by Aeneas61, February 17, 2016, 04:10:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aeneas61

Hello all,
Im very new to saw milling, have an EZ boardwalk Junior sawmill and will be doing a good bit of sawing in the near future, am here searching for advice from those who unlike me know what they are doing!  ;D

I will soon be sawing up some Oak, tulip poplar, and pine for a neighbor who mostly wants 1x material for flooring and roofing as well as 2x8 or 2x6 for barn rafters and such construction.

I should say most of the logs will be anywhere from 10-30". Until now I only sawed a few tulip poplars for roof decking last summer, I just squared the logs into 12" cants taking a slab off all four sides, then sawed 1x down to the bed.

Ive read a few times on forums one should do things like flipping cants every few cuts, and say deciding a 12"can't into 1/3s before sawing 1x material to prevent cupping and the like.

I guess to simplify my questions,

1. What would be the best way to process a 12" log into 1x or 2x material?
2. What about a larger log? Would I do anything differently?
3. Is there a big difference sawing 1x or 2x? I know most flooring is not wide stuff because of movement, so I guess you would want to divide the cants up to say 4x12 size then rotate and saw 1x perhaps?

Thanks all for the advice!
josh

Magicman

Even logs of the same species can be different depending upon their growing conditions.  There are no set rules.  Watch the log as you remove boards.  If either end has a tendency to lift up off of the sawmill bed, then turn.  Of course sometimes when you release the log clamp, you immediately wish that you had not.  Logs and tension are cruel teachers.   :-\
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People