iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Shaper cutters for thin flooring?

Started by alan gage, January 04, 2021, 02:56:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alan gage

I'll be putting down some ~7/16" flooring in my house this winter (my wood). Figured it was too thin to find appropriate shaper cutters but this weekend I was refinishing hardwood floors in my mothers house and I noticed they were only 3/8" thick but were tongue and groove. I did a little snooping online but nearly all the bits I found were for 5/8-3/4" boards with a couple stating they could be used for 1/2" to 1" thick boards.

I'm a total newbie when it comes to shapers. Any thoughts on this? Is using a cutter rated for 1/2" minimum thickness boards already going to be too marginal for 7/16" boards?

While it would be nice to hide my nails I wouldn't mind face nailing them. I mostly want the T&G to lock the edges together. In the bedrooms I just butted the edges which worked pretty well except that the pieces wouldn't always remain flush between the joists and would require an extra nail or two to keep everything tight to the floor.

Alan
Timberking B-16, a few chainsaws from small to large, and a Bobcat 873 Skidloader.

Mike W

I used the following 

1/2" Shank Tongue & Groove For 3/8" to 5/8" Stock
Brand: infinity Tools

When I needed to T & G some aromatic cedar that was only 3/8" thick.  worked out real good, but boy is the tongue thin and easy to chip off, but then again that was 3/8" not 7/16" and it still worked on the thinner material just fine

I just ran what I needed on the router table, but with a router insert for the shaper, don't see why this wouldn't perform as well or better, especially for a one off project or two and not any heavy production use.

alan gage