iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Pine, pitch, set, lube ... my experience

Started by John Bartley, February 27, 2008, 07:41:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Bartley

Hi all,

First of all, I am a newbie at milling, but I'm learning fast ... so here's what happened to me;

Late December ... bought a new mill ... sawed about 200bdft of frozen Elm ... all went well ... using WW with water and Pine-Sol with the stock cheapy blade that came with the mill ... sharpened the blade ... 10', .023"set

Late January ... started sawing some green, frozen White Pine ... logs about 28" x 9' ... all went well ... sawed about 200bdft ... took the blade off to check ... not bad ... might as well sharpen and set anyway (good practice eh?)

Mid February ... installed a brand new blade ... another nice green, frozen White Pine log .... about 28" x 9' ... same lube, same tension etc .... had waves you could surf on ... fast feed - slow feed - no change ... checked everything ... couldn't see anything wrong or different other than a lot of pitch buildup ... hadn't sharpened the old blade yet, so couldn't try it ... tried another new blade - same .... major depression ... had to have a hot chocolate.

Thought about it for a while ... chatted with a friend ... had another hot chocolate ... decided that the set was too thin ... took the first new blade ... checked set - was .019-.020  but still seemed sharp ... cleaned and reset at .024 ... sharpened at 10' ... reinstalled and test ran ... better, but very slow feed and any knot causes a major detour ... noticed a lot of pitch buildup again ... tried more lube - less pitch, but still some waves .

Finally ... the blade box recommended 1250psi tension, but I cranked it up a couple of hundred psi at a time until I reached 1750psi, and while it was much better, I was still getting pitch buildup ... opened the lube until the pitch went away ... so did the waves