iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Status of Chainsaw Mill Use

Started by Snag, February 07, 2006, 10:49:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Snag

I have been wondering about those of you who started off with a chainsaw mill and then upgraded to a bandsaw or swingblade mill.  What ever became of the old chainsaw mill.  I have been using an alaskan with a 395xp for a couple years, and was wondering how much I would ever use it again after my Peterson arrives?  Can someone share what happened to their chainsawmill once upgrading?

Jim Shockey

It is great to square up a large log so it will fit Thur the mill.  Jim
Jim

jpgreen

THAT remains to be seen for me.  I've got some folks that want to buy my chainsaw mil, but my particular type can be used for an edger, and it's still portable.

I'm definitly not going to be selling my 3120 power head, and I'm looking for a 60" bar so I can use an alaskan jig to slab an occational old growth monster.

I have visions of draft horses pulling cants out of our steep mountains to my Wood-mizer..  ;D..... :D

If I had a swinger, I would figgure a way to  hang the alaskan for slabbing...
smiley_beertoast  smiley_beertoast
-95 Wood-Mizer LT40HD 27 Hp Kawasaki water cooled engine-

Snag

Thats a pretty good idea.  smiley_idea 

I wont give up my 395xp, and I would probably hang on to the alaskan anyway (I have shed alot of sweat with that thing).smiley_sweat_drop 

I like the slabber that is offered with the Peterson, but I just dont think I would be using it enough to justify it.  I figured my alaskan would still help me out here and there, but I guess I'll have to wait and see.  Mounting like you mentioned sure would add a few more years onto the life of my back.  smiley_bucktooth

There - my first use of smileys

Ianab