iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hello from North Carolina

Started by MRowsh, August 02, 2013, 10:12:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MRowsh

I am a retired US Army Soldier who is going to get into saw mill works very soon.  The story is, we have done a lot of research with respect to all the crap (pesticide, and herbicides) that is getting added into our produce we buy, we decided to build a nice big green house for an Aquaponics system. 
Anyway, I need to clear a piece of land in order to not only build the Green House, but also allow enough sun to come through for proper growth.  Asked few who clear land for estimate. When I saw the figures, I almost soiled myself!!  Between $350 to 450 to get them down and taken away. There are some real big pine trees, and about 30 hard wood (white oak, and red oak). Some real big, I estimate about 110 feet tall for many oaks and taller than them are about 20 pines.
Then I checked all the prices of lumber at Lowes and other places. Good God, All Mighty. The price of lumber has gone up so much, another OH CRAP MOMENT!!
I thought of taking my time and doing it the old fashioned way. So I started researching about saw mills about 4 weeks ago. Have spent a lot of time corresponding to many manufacturers, except Cook's, they never responded to my request. Oh well, it was not meant to be!
So, I have finalized my decision, and by next Monday will place my order for one fine saw mill.
So, I have to learn how to use them first.
After reading so much about cutting into different objects inside the logs, I think I need to purchase a metal detector.

So, please let me know which model and brand name has worked the best.  I do appreciate any help. As you know, it can not get more Green Horn than me at this moment.
God bless all responsible citizens!
LogMaster LM2 with Kubota V1305 Diesel conversion.
There is a price for everything in life!!!  No free lunches!
Retired US Army.

nk14zp

Belsaw 36/18 duplex mill.
Belsaw 802 edger.