iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Introduction / Milling production question / saw mill path forward

Started by BeeBazaar, April 26, 2023, 02:02:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BeeBazaar

Greetings all-

I'm a hobbyist wood worker.  I've decided that I want to mill my own lumber like many of you.  I have read and researched and decided to build my own equipment.  I recently finished (not finished) a log arch.  I had purchased the Procut plans and started planning for that.  With the cost of a chainsaw, though, I think I can build a bandsaw for less money than the needed chainsaw and since general consensus seems to be bandsaws are the cut of choice anyway. (not to start a debate here)  I have Lurked here for a while and recently joined since I have some questions I don't see answers too or cant find.

I would love to build my own cabinets and hardwood floor out of trees I milled myself or other stuff too as I desire.  My current ambition is cherry cabinets for the house, which is underway though very early still

So 1 question I have is this:   I read people say "I cut 1000 bf"  I understand what a bf is.  but say I have a log that is 100 bf, and I cut it at 2" thick and another that is identical and i cut it at 1" thick.  The 1" thik would require twice the cuts, twice the wear on the equipment twice the time.  yet they are both 100 bf.  what am I missing here?  or does that not come into consideration?  seems like cheating to me if you are cutting large slabs compared to someone cutting 1x2's for cabinet trim or something?

My other question is on Log dogs on mills.  they always seem so tall like they will be in the way of the blade.  why is this?  Why not make a low profile dog that only needs set once for all the cuts?  or is there an advantage to having them just below the blade of each cut?  It seems like adjusting them on every pass is unproductive.  But I've never milled before so what do i know?