iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Using northern white cedar for log house

Started by manofbush, September 30, 2020, 12:19:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

manofbush

Hi there, another newbie here.  I currently own a property on Manitoulin Island in Ontario and have approx. 20 acres of good NW cedar.  I am wanting to build a cabin - approx 24 x 36 - and have some questions.  I was wanting to use square milled logs that are 8 x 8.  However, I am not sure about that.  It seems to me that is rather large for cedar as it would be fairly hard to get enough long enough logs .  I would like comments on this.
Also, is there some sort of rule of thumb on taper?  From what I can gather it seems like the taper is something like .75 inch diameter taper for every foot of log.  Is that accurate?
Is there some sort of "ideal" log length?
Thanks for now.

Ljohnsaw

The "ideal log length" is what you are physically able to move! ;)
As far as taper, I have Incense Cedar (what pencils are made from).  I can have a lot of taper at 1/2" per foot down to 1" in 10'!  All depends on where they are growing and how much water they have gotten in their life.  For an 8x8 you would need a minimum end size on a pretty straight log to be 12".  Is that size rare in  your woods?  Since you are having them milled (or yourself?), you could do 7x7 or 6x8?  A little wane would add character, too.
John Sawicky

Just North-East of Sacramento...

SkyTrak 9038, Ford 545D FEL, Davis Little Monster backhoe, Case 16+4 Trencher, Home Built 42" capacity/36" cut Bandmill up to 54' long - using it all to build a timber frame cabin.

curved-wood