iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Crankshaft bearings (again)

Started by Guydreads, November 08, 2022, 06:27:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guydreads

So I went to a local chainsaw dealer, and he picked up some bearings for me. Very high quality evidently by the feel... but, there's this:

Do I need to return these to get open bearings? I was reading something about popping seals out and what not. Is that possible with this? I'm a newbie when it comes to bottom ends, this is my first one and I'd rather not blow it up. Evidently this isn't going to work as is, since no oil will get to it.

Guydreads

Also I did find a video of how to remove it (the shield)... I just want to make sure that it's safe :)

Real1shepherd

You need to return it to the original configuration, yes. Usually, that's both dust shields off and a seal in the hollow of the crank case. Make sure the bearing thickness is the same as OE so your crankshaft seal will fit in the hollow as OE.

Kevin

Guydreads

Yes, it is the same as the original in every way, I'll send a pic with the shields removed once I get to it later

Real1shepherd

Almost all bearings and seals in this kinda application are now coming from China. I hate that in almost every way possible.....but what are you gonna do...... ::)

I've got CV boots on the front axles of my car. I get three-four yrs on them before they crack and start leaking/slinging grease. And yet the half axles boots in the rear are original.....30yrs. Obviously, it's a material/manufacture issue. Replacing half axle boots every three-four yrs is not routine maintenance.

Kevin

Guydreads

At least on the packaging it says made in Portugal, I don't know if that's really true though

Al_Smith

The subject of sealed bearings can become very controversial .Conventional thinking suggests that without additional  methods of lubrication might  cause a premature failure. Not really  the entire truth .