The Forestry Forum is sponsored in part by:

iDRY Vacuum Kilns


Forestry Forum
Sponsored by:


TimberKing Sawmills



Toll Free 1-800-582-0470

LogRite Tools



Norwood Industries Inc.




Your source for Portable Sawmills, Edgers, Resaws, Sharpeners, Setters, Bandsaw Blades and Sawmill Parts

EZ Boardwalk Sawmills. More Saw For Less Money!

STIHLDealers.com sponsored by Northeast STIHL


Woodland Sawmills

Peterson Swingmills

 KASCO SharpTech WoodMaxx Blades

Turbosawmill

Sawmill Exchange

Michigan Firewood, your BRUTE FORCE Authorized Dealer

Baker Products

ECHO-Bearcat

iDRY Wood Lumber Vacuum Drying for everyon

Nyle Kiln Dry Systems

Chainsawr, The Worlds Largest Inventory of Chainsaw Parts

Smith Sawmill Service



Author Topic: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge  (Read 7897 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dirtmod454

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Location: NY
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« on: April 09, 2009, 08:22:29 PM »
I am currently running an .058" guage bar on my 372xp. I have some new chains laying around that are .050" guage. My question is whether it is ok to run the .050" guage chain in my .058" bar?

Thanks
Ben Rulison

Offline Rocky_J

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1572
  • Age: 57
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2009, 08:27:00 PM »
Yeah, they will technically fit. But in reality there will be a lot of slop and the chain will more easily track crooked in the cut. It will be more difficult than usual to make straight cuts, especially if your filing is not even or if the teeth on one side are duller than the other.

Offline lonewolf

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Age: 51
  • Location: west central wisconsin
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2009, 08:38:33 PM »
If you want to use up your .58 chains buy a .50 bar and use them up. If you have enough to wear the bar you could then run .58 chains on it. I had a cutter working for me that started with .50 and worked his way to .63 then threw em out.
"EARTH FIRST"  WE'LL LOG THE OTHER PLANETS LATER

Offline arojay

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
  • Location: Yukon Territory, Canada
  • I'm new!
    • Share Post
Re: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2009, 12:14:07 AM »
I've mixed up chains a time or two and when I put the .50 on a .58 bar it didn't cut worth spit.  The first time was probably 6 or 7 years ago and it took me a while to find out what was wrong, so when I did it this past fall I knew what was wrong right away.
440B skidder, JD350 dozer, Husqvarnas from 335 to 394. All spruced up

Offline Al_Smith

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 12211
  • Location: Northwestern Ohio in the center of a giant corn field
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2009, 08:04:16 AM »
I suppose perhaps a person could put say an .058 chain on a worn out .050 bar and get away with it . Who am I to say how a person runs their equipment ?

Bear in mind though that usually  a bar that worn will have the slot wallered out in the bottom plus the rails will be worn down enough the drivers are likely ridding on the bottom of the slot . They will run but the bar and chain will get hot as a firecracker .

If a person were overly blessed with an abundance of .050 chain and wanted to use it up just buy another bar . Depending on the bar mount Baileys often have them on sale for a pretty reasonable price .

Ha,I once got an old Mac off E-bay with a 24" hardnose on it .The danged chain had been spun up with a combination of full skip and semi skip using part .050 and part .058 on a .058 bar . Talk about a Frankenstein chain ,wow . :D

Offline SawTroll

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 2468
  • Age: 65
  • Location: Troms, North Norway
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2009, 02:06:07 PM »
I suppose perhaps a person could put say an .058 chain on a worn out .050 bar and get away with it . Who am I to say how a person runs their equipment ?

Bear in mind though that usually  a bar that worn will have the slot wallered out in the bottom plus the rails will be worn down enough the drivers are likely ridding on the bottom of the slot . They will run but the bar and chain will get hot as a firecracker .

If a person were overly blessed with an abundance of .050 chain and wanted to use it up just buy another bar . Depending on the bar mount Baileys often have them on sale for a pretty reasonable price . ...


I agree - have run .063 chain on a worn out .058 bar - and it works OK for streight down cuts for some time, but not for anything else.

.050 on a .058 bar will wear both the bar and chain excessively, and likely cut crooked in the process...... smiley_hanged
Information collector.

Offline lonewolf

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Age: 51
  • Location: west central wisconsin
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2009, 03:34:04 PM »
I'm not suggesting you should do this just saying you can. I personally would buy .50 bar and use them up or trade them for .58 chains. It's not worth the headache to fight a saw that doesn't cut. I have a couple of people that take my saw chains that I consider junk and  cut firewood with them. I won't waste my time with a bar or chain that doesn't work correctly. If you look at the cost of a bar and chain it is IMO not much compared to the $ loss in production when using faulty supplies.
"EARTH FIRST"  WE'LL LOG THE OTHER PLANETS LATER

Offline dirtmod454

  • member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Location: NY
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
Re: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2009, 12:00:39 PM »
Hey guys....Thanks for the great info. I will try to trade the 0.050 gauge chain for 0.058 chains at my local shop or else buy another bar.
Thanks again
-Ben Rulison

Offline ErikC

  • Senior Member x2
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
  • Age: 45
  • Location: Hayfork, CA
  • Gender: Male
    • Share Post
    • Erik Cordtz Enterprises
Re: chains .050" gauge and .058" gauge
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2009, 12:39:35 PM »
  I took a bunch of .050 gauge chain in a trade one time, but I run .063. I had 6 or 8 loops, brand new chains in the boxes still. I took them in to my saw shop and they spun me some .063 loops the same size, and traded strait across. One more reason to deal with a local saw shop and get to know them.
Peterson 8" with 33' tracks, JCB 1550 4x4 loader backhoe, several stihl chainsaws


Share via delicious Share via digg Share via facebook Share via linkedin Share via pinterest Share via reddit Share via stumble Share via tumblr Share via twitter

xx
Can I use .50 gauge chain on .58 gauge drive sprocket

Started by Greenerpastures on Chainsaws

47 Replies
14447 Views
Last post September 20, 2018, 03:19:45 PM
by Greenerpastures
xx
050 v 058 gauge chains ...

Started by BC_coops on Chainsaws

8 Replies
18263 Views
Last post December 21, 2004, 01:25:31 PM
by leweee
xx
Question on .050 gauge vs .063 gauge bars

Started by Furu on Chainsaws

3 Replies
4566 Views
Last post February 19, 2012, 08:41:01 PM
by sawguy21
xx
Want to share chains, Husky 55 R & 562XP, which Gauge?

Started by JOE.G on Chainsaws

14 Replies
6349 Views
Last post September 08, 2012, 07:32:16 PM
by mad murdock
 


Powered by EzPortal