iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Boards come out thinner on the ends

Started by Matthew C, May 28, 2016, 11:10:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matthew C

Hello, everyone.  I am new at milling and new at using the forum.  I live in Guatemala and I bought a home made band saw mill and put a VW engine on it.  My boards are coming out thinner at both ends, and thicker in the middle. What can be causing that and how can I fix it?  Any ideas?  Thanks in advance.  Matt C.

Ron Wenrich

Could be log stress.  How often do you turn your log?  What type of logs?  Does it do it in every cut?   Does it vary under different feed rates?
Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

Cedar Eater

Do you start in slow, speed up through the middle and then slow down before exiting the log? The increased pressure from the higher speed can make the blade dive down.
Cedar Eater

Matthew C

After posting this I went to "extras" and then to "removing stress in a cant."  I see that the problem might be the wood and the operator and probably not the machinery itself. That is good news.  Cedar Eater I will also keep an eye on my speed when cutting to see if that is it.  Ron Wenrich, I have to check, but it seemed to be happening frequently.  There are varieties of trees here that dont grow up north and the names seem to vary from country to country.  I was just cutting some "Volador" and "Cola Iguana". I have no idea if they have other names up north.  Any suggestions as to how to minimize the stress problem?  Thanks a lot.  This is the steep part of the learning curve for me.  Matt

Ianab

After you check the mill itself for straightness, get down and look along the log as you are sawing it.  If the wood contains tension wood, as you saw off one side the remaining wood will pull the cant up into an arch. Then of course you cut a straight line through that, and the board is thicker in the middle, and the cant bows up a little more.