iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cantilever Design Sawshed.

Started by Chris Burchfield, February 22, 2006, 08:16:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chris Burchfield

Number one, I am not an engineer. However, I feel like if I build it, it shall (as in code)  be stout. I tend to over do things. Of course with strength, I've broken things that really did not need to be broken. Or stripped bolt threads that I used too much pressure on. I want to build a cantilever design saw shed. One that I can pull Glenda under, drive out of and have free opening on the side for loading logs of at least 20 feet in length and maybe plus six feet.  I have the LT40SH W/Command Control Station which I can add 1 (6') extension. I've not called the factory to see what the max. log lenth would be with the extension. 21 is called for the way she sits though I'm staying at 20 footers from knowledge shared on this site as max.  I've looked on "search: Sawshed" and did not find anything like what I was after. Any suggestions? TYIA, Chris in Memphis.
Woodmizer LT40SH W/Command Control; 51HP Cat, Memphis TN.

Bibbyman

Are you looking to build a complete enclosed building or just a pavilion roof over your mill?

If you're looking to build a roof to park and saw under and need access for loading long logs,  I seen one down in Mt. Vernon, MO. at the Wood-Mizer field service center there.  Will Baugh, the service manager there, has a building that is 30-40' long and 24-30' wide.  It has a row of posts down the middle and a row along the back.  But there are no posts on the front side.  The mill sets on this half and there is unlimited access to the front and ends of the mill.  I'm not sure if I've got any clear picture of that building.

If you need an enclosed building,  the best way to make an opening that wide is to do it on the gable end.