iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Starting To Get Depressed

Started by Autocar, October 30, 2014, 08:59:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Autocar

With all the wet weather here in west central Ohio and the late planting, the crops are slow to come off. I stopped and talked to the farmer about shelling a path though the corn so I could get started before the weather falls apart. But he dosen't have his beans off yet and didn't want to change the head which I understand then on top of that they twisted a shaft off the combine and was waiting for the part. Drives me nuts standing around while you see log trucks running up and down the highway. I am a small operator and don't like getting to far out on the limb with to much bought but this time it is looking like I will get bit in the butt and have to wait.
Bill

luvmexfood

I know what you mean. It rained here for a week. Then again yesterday. Get in the woods to skid and the ground is still wet under the leaves. Now there calling for a major snow this Saturday. I've cut about all I can find that is on the edge of pasture where it dries faster. Got some bills to get paid.

Bet I have put in over a hundred job applications with no luck. Even tried a grocery store. Oh well. Just hang in and keep trying.
Give me a new saw chain and I can find you a rock in a heartbeat.

mesquite buckeye

It's not just the head you have to change. You have to switch the sieves inside the combine too. It is not trivial. If they don't get the beans out soon, they might not get them out at all.

Is there any other way you can access the woods? You could always offer to hand pick the corn to clear out about 4 rows across the field. If you are totally stuck otherwise, that could make it work. Sorry to hear you are stuck.
Manage 80 acre tree farm in central Missouri and Mesquite timber and about a gozillion saguaros in Arizona.

Ed